The Ottawa Music Industry Coalition (OMIC) is a not-for-profit, membership-based organization dedicated to growing the city’s music industry for the benefit of its artists, businesses, and the city as a whole. OMIC is committed to bringing together members of the local music communities, along with its municipal and provincial partners, to work toward common goals, including:

  • Developing audiences for Ottawa music on local, national and international levels
  • Supporting the development of the region’s artists, entrepreneurs and other music professionals
  • Building Ottawa’s music networks within and beyond the city
  • Advocating for the local music industry to government, industry and institutional partners

Find out more about our programs.

Board of Directors

OMIC's Board of Directors brings together leading representatives from across Ottawa's music industries.

  • Mark Monahan, President - Bluesfest, CityFolk
  • Jon Bartlett, Vice President - MEGAPHONO, Kelp Music
  • Colin Mills, Treasurer - Algonquin College, Music Industry Arts 
  • Alka Sharma, Secretary - Folk Music Ontario 
  • Steve Foley - Audio Valley
  • Heather Gibson - National Arts Centre
  • Yaovi Hoyi - Yao (Artist), Intello-Productions
  • Melissa Kaestner - mhk Consulting
  • Patrick Harrison - The Great Diversion (Artist), Agence PRH Talent Management
  • Ivan Ndikuriyo - IVAN (Artist)

OMIC By-laws 2016-06-08